The Adelaide Pigeon Club-Australia's most exciting club!

Address all correspondence to
The Secretary: Rolf Goodacre
22 Wood Street, Kurralta Park SA 5037
Ph 0405 507 031

Address all payments to

The Treasurer: Adelaide Pigeon Club Penny Fretter 12 Spencer Street Mac Donald Park S.A. 5121

Ph 0400 823 461

Email the club at adelaidepigeonclub@hotmail.com

Website information from www.adelaidepigeonclub.com.au



BOOKALOO 2024 NEWSLETTER

In our first race for the year the birds were released from Bookaloo at 9:00 am along with 1961 SAHPA birds. The weather at the release point was fine and sunny with no wind and only very light winds expected on the way home.

The first two birds arrived together with **FQ Bros** (**Roy Xia**) winning narrowly from **Find The Treasure** (**David Brokensha**) with a further five minutes to **D & B Cunningham** third. Congratulations to the winners and to all of the other prize winners. The winning velocity was 1326.583.

We are devastated with the losses from this race and cannot explain the poor returns. With the tosses the birds have been arriving home at exactly the time expected every toss and around the loft they were flying terrific disappearing for forty five minutes before coming back over the top of the loft and flying for a further thirty minutes or so. In the future to avoid a repeat we will have our first race for the season from the shorter Stirling North race point.

I have been unable to obtain any information on the breeding of the winner as Roy is currently overseas.

Second is all Gaby Vandenabeele bred from a combination of birds from Peter Vranek and David which have been flying well. A sister of the dam has bred a SAHPA winner.

The sire of third is a cross between a Heremans from Cook & Edwards and a Houben / Flor Engels from David Van Aalst. The dam won the APC Twins race in 2022 with her sire being an unraced Koopman purchased from Rolf Goodacre related to the "Goodacre" pair and Kindred Spirit whilst her dam was 1st SAHPA The Twins for Greg Hamilton.

The second race is from Pimba on 13th July.

APC Committee Brian, Penny and Rolf